October 4, 2015

Hello again,

This Tuesday I arrived at the transfer meeting. We got to say goodbye to some of the missionaries I knew, and I found out who my new companion is and where I’m going. I’m currently in Dallas, Oregon, which is about 15 minutes from Salem, and I’m serving with Elder Benham in the Perrydale Ward. I’m still getting used to the newness of everything, but I seem to be keeping up so far. And I’m seeing a lot of similarities and differences with Elder Benham as well. He’s 5’4″.

Our closest friends are from Cooper Hollow Ward, Elder Malauulu and Elder Combs, who we share our car with. Elder Malauulu is from Samoa but lived in California before his mission, and he came into the mission the same time Elder Hardy did. And Elder Combs came with me into the mission. There’s also Elder Sallade (the district leader) and Elder Thompson (who came in this transfer) in Oakdale Ward, but we don’t see them as often.

The area we do the most work in isn’t even a square mile wide, so we walk when we’re proselyting most of the time. Mostly this week we have been finding new people to teach, mainly among people we’ve talked to before. One of them is Coryell. We taught her the Restoration and she seemed delighted, especially at the Atonement and the First Vision. We’re meeting with her again Wednesday, and I hope we’ll set up a baptismal date for her then.

And General Conference was amazing. I wish I paid more attention to it, but that’s why they print the talks. I think all three new apostles will do great. Next conference should be significant as well.

I’m starting to make friends here in Dallas as well, so things overall have been great. Hopefully I’ll get to know the ward more this week as well.

Elder Jensen

Leave a Reply

